Posted by: Kaitlin | July 1, 2010

Here we are

Culture, imagination, memory, travel, personal identity.

These are the words that form the basis of the culture of the Moleskine notebook. I love Moleskines. Just look how pretty they are.

Unfortunately they are also very expensive and I have been pining for one for months. I finally bought one last week at Russell Books, my favourite Victoria book store. The moment I bought it I was so excited to read the History of Moleskine and to just look at its beautiful pages.

But a strange phenomenon has occurred. I have not written in it yet. Why? I don’t know. I think that I love it so much, I cannot decide what, from my head, could possibly be appropriate to grace its beautiful pages. Also, the website has such beautiful art from other moleskine devotees that I feel I cannot compare, not that anyone else will see it anyway. But this is one of my usual faults- I compare myself to people too much, and I’m working on it. But maybe this is my art- writing? After all, what are those words of moleskine? Personal identity, and I can own mine. I am not a visual artist. I really am not a talented draw-er, painter etc. But I suppose I can write, and so here we are.

Note: I wrote this June 16 and apparently forgot to post it!

Leave a Reply

Categories

