Posted by: Kaitlin | July 12, 2010

On Air…

I have been thinking about this here blog quite a bit lately. Actually, I don’t like calling it a blog. I don’t write here because I want to have a blog. I still think of it as an experiment. I would rather call it… an anthology, or a selection, a collection, of my own thoughts. It doesn’t span my whole mind. You may be surprised to hear that I actually think about things other than books, but since this is a book themed collection, I confine it to that arena of my thoughts.

Sometimes I consider telling the facebook world about the blog. I have the link on my profile, but who really looks at that? I could tell people when I write a new post (or selection), but I don’t know how much I want that many people to find this. I think I like it better when people stumble across it. Although, I do tell my friends with other blogs about my baby, BookBound.

I was rereading my Canada Day post and I realized that it was thoroughly un-patriotic. Canada Day is more than just fireworks and drunk people. I have been listening to the CBC at work lately, and this is something that really does make me feel the Canadian patriotism. There is just something about radio that is so uniting, binding. Last summer I read a book called Late Nights on Air, by Elizabeth Hay, and it is about the eclectic collection of people working at a radio station in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories. Last summer I wrote about another of Hay’s books, A Student of Weather. I said that it was not a book I would have chosen, (it was a gift) and it is certainly a “Canadian prairie depression dust bowl” novel, if you know what I mean and I think you do. I try to avoid books with that general theme and topic, but I actually loved it, and was prompted to read her other book.

Hay is just great at writing scenery and landscape, not so much so that I can picture it and imagine myself there, but in a way that makes me know how this place is different from any other place. The Yukon is dark for half the year and cold often, but Hay made it feel alive despite this often oppressively somber, gloomy climate. She made it seem mysterious and interesting. She made me want to go there. I thought, “I’m Canadian, why haven’t I been to Yellowknife?” I think her use of a radio station in this novel is key to creating this longing for being there. What else is so binding in such a large, multi-cultural country as radio? Many people will disagree with me on this, and maybe I am just being an old fashioned romantic, but that’s ok.

Sorry Canada for not being excited about you. I appreciate you.

Leave a Reply

Categories

